7 Day Art Challenge: Day 1

Tracy Stone Gallagher (a FB and high school friend) challenged me to a “7 Day Art Challenge”.

image

I will start with a rug hooking project. It is a rare occasion that I get to do this but it is still cold enough in the mornings to build a fire and enjoy a cup of chocolate mint tea. This is one of my favorite fireside chairs. Probably because I gave this chair lots of TLC and rescued it. I purchased it for $5 from an uncovered and weathered porch of a knit shop.

image

I refurbished it, refinished it, recaned it (similar to basket weaving on the chair’s seat) and made a rug hooking cover for it.

image

I designed the fall landscape scene for the chair seat from one of my favorite covered bridges in Giles County, Virginia “Clover Hollow Covered Bridge” built in 1916.

Leave a Reply

