Featured Quilter with an Amazing Story on Veteran’s Day

Today my featured quilter,
Debbie D., a new resident of  Franklin County, Virginia, has an amazing story to tell.

Debbie was a winner of my Operation: Support Our Troops pattern in a Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Magazine contest. I entered my block and was thrilled that it appeared in the magazine which claims to feature “100 Blocks from Today’s Top Designers”.
image
During the contest, Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Magazine asks designers to give donations as gifts for quilters, readers, and magazine subscribers.

During the contest, Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Magazine asked designers to make gift donations for the quilters, readers, and magazine subscribers. The magazine also gives away many prizes. This gives great pleasure and excitement for everyone to enjoy.

Debbie says, “I discovered you because I won the 100 Blocks prize from Quiltmaker which included your Operation: Support Our Troops pattern. Thanks for donating that. I fully plan on making at least one quilt to donate. It is absolutely the nicest flag pattern I’ve seen! My dad just recently passed at 91 and was a fighter pilot in WWII. My son served also so I know how important it is to give back when I can.”

image

image

Debbie made the quilt with Stonehenge fabric that she found online. She enjoyed every minute of the process and was pleased with the end result. When making the quilt, Debbie explained, “It absolutely helped me remain close to my dad who loved seeing all my creations.”

image

image

When Debbie’s quilt was near completion, she approached Quilts of Valor’s (QOV) about their criteria but the quilt was too small. Through extensive contact with QOV, Carly from webfabrics.net, and myself, she decided to donate the quilt to Veteran’s Hospital in Northport, New York, on the first anniversary of her dad’s passing. Debbie commented, “It was very cathartic to do this. The woman who accepted the quilt was overly gracious and thankful. I left there feeling very warm and fuzzy.”

image

image

Debbie said, “One of the first pieces of mail I received in my new Franklin County, Virginia, home was a lovely letter from the Veteran’s Administration Hospital. While the letter was over the top in thanking me, I was a little disappointed that it didn’t include a few words from the recipient.”

Another four months went by when she received the most heart-warming email from the veteran who received the quilt. By the time she finished reading, Debbie was in tears. Right then and there, Debbie knew she was going to make at least one more quilt and probably several others.

image

image

The recipient of Debbie’s quilt wrote,

“After just coming out of a knee replacement some angels stopped by my bed and gave me a bag of what appeared to be toilet items and what appeared to be a blanket. For the next ten days I was in such extreme pain and heavy medication I had no idea where I was or what was happening. I have been home a week now and can not begin to tell you just how much your hand-quilted blanket has been in helping with my recovery. Each moment your quilt has been the perfect size to cover my long legs as well as light enough not to put pressure on my wound. I truly realize how much time, effort, and caring love was given on creating this beautiful piece of art work. I will treasure this gift  for the rest of my life. I would also like to acknowledge your fellow volunteers on such a noble endeavor. God Bless You, God Bless America, with warm and heart-filled thanks.”

To end today’s blog post, I wish to thank all of our military personnel, veterans and military family. Without your service and sacrifice, Americans would not have the freedom we have today.

image

image

Photos courtesy of Debbie D. Used by permission.

To order Operation: Support Our Troops pattern, email cameliaelliott@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Featured Quilter with an Amazing Story on Veteran’s Day

  1. Becky says:

    This is truly amazing. Quilters are special and the ones (like you) who create and teach are special.

  2. Camelia.. thank you so very much for highlighting my quilt and my story.. you did an awesome job on the article.. and this is still the best RW&B pattern I have seen.. I also have made (2) 1 block wall hangings for 2 people with this same pattern! Thanks again.. Debbie

  3. […] area..  anyway.. I’ll pass you over to Camelia’s blog to see the whole story on the Operation Support Our Troops quilt. While you are there check out Camelia’s […]

Leave a Reply

