Traditional Mountain Apple Butter

Temperatures are dropping, the air is crisp and fall has arrived. When we moved Virginia, I was amazed by all of the apple butter making events in our part of the state. There is a detailed chapter in my book, Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, about one church’s process of making apple butter and their recipe. All of their proceeds go to missions. It takes several days to wash, peel, remove cores from enough apples to fill a fifty gallon kettle. A long day of  apple butter making starts before dawn and does not end until late afternoon. On a recent trip to the canning factory, I was amazed while watching one family make apple butter.

image

They spent all day stirring the huge kettle with a stick about the size of a boat oar. For lunch, they had a little tailgate party going on outside of the cannery and cooked t-bone steaks,  potato salad and other delectable fixins. The steaks and apple butter smelt heavenly! My tuna salad was not near as exciting plus I forgot to bring a fork so I had to use my pretzels as an eating utensil.

image

Assembly line on filling quart-size jars with apple butter. There were about five family members helping on this endeavor.

image

They were kind enough to share a jar with me. I asked the man in charge if I could please purchase a jar. He replied, “No but I’ll give you one.” When the apple butter finished cooking, they offered me a taste. I can’t even describe how scrumptious it was!

Leave a Reply

