Tutorial – Paper Piecing Made Simple

We have a guest blogger today.  I’ve invited my good friend, Mary Ellen, of the Quilt Mouse Blog.  She has contributed to my blog several times.

Good Evening! and Happy Stitching!!  I’m pleased to be a guest today on Camelia’s Blog.  Although we don’t live near each other, we enjoy the closeness that the Internet provides.

A number of months ago Camelia and I spent a wonderful week together stitching and visiting.

2013-11-19 07.52.14

We turned her living room into a sewing studio.  There was a cutting station, an ironing station and of course, two sewing machines set up!

Every time we get together I learn something new from Camelia, and this time wasn’t any different.

We took this opportunity to shoot a couple of videos.  Today we want to share one with you.

Have you ever tried Paper Piecing?  Perhaps you’ve heard people exclaim how their ‘points are perfect when I paper piece.  We have a video tutorial to show you how easy it is to Paper Piece or Foundation Piece.  I know I was afraid when first confronted with this technique.  It was at one of Camelia’s Quilt Retreats that she helped me learn how to paper piece.  I must say that it does take a little bit of concentration and definitely this is a technique that “Practice Makes Perfect.”  I’d recommend starting with a simple pattern and then make several until you become comfortable with it.

Tips

  • Since you are stitching through 2 layers of fabric and paper, remember to change your needle as it will become dull very quickly.
  • Normally, when piecing, it isn’t necessary to backstitch at the beginning & ending of the seam, but since you will be pulling the paper to tear it away, it is helpful to secure your seams so you won’t inadvertently tear the seam while removing the paper.
  • Reduce your stitch width.  This will help the paper tear away more easily.
  • Your first piece of fabric is laid wrong-side toward the back of the paper, while the remaining pieces of fabric are laid right-side toward the last fabric.

Did You Know?

Tomorrow begins the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume 10 Blog Tour.  I’ve had the privilege of testing blocks for the past 4 issues and can truly say I believe this one has some super blocks!

Vol10-blog-tour-this-week-socialmedia

You really need to see Block #939 on page 38.  We know the designer personally! Smile Come back on the 19th to see Camelia’s block!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.

Leave a Reply

