Camelia’s Garden block #864 in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks

I am thrilled and honored to have the opportunity to be a part of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Blog Tour. I submitted my block a while back and was so excited to receive the news that it was to be included in this issue.

QMMS-140044-ELLIOTT

Above photo courtesy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks.

Camelia’s Garden is Block #864 on page 57. When I received a photo of the cover of the magazine, I screamed after I saw my block on the cover! Since I wanted to include my quilt in the magazine’s photo shoot, I only had two weeks to finish it. We had a major blizzard at that time here in Southwest Virginia, that dumped 28.5 inches of snow—an awesome time to work on the quilt. In our little neck of the woods, all snowfall records were broken. You can see beautiful snowscape photos on my February 17 and February 19, 2014 blog posts.

I had so much fun designing this quilt! Debbie Lane attends my quilting retreats and came up with a darling name for the quilt Ladybug@FlowerGarden.bzz

100 blocks portrait - Page 001It started with a simple tulip block.

100 blocks - Page 001To give the block a striking border, I added a checkerboard.

If you check out the patterns on my website, www.cameliaelliott.com, you will discover how much I love kaleidoscopes. The tulip blocks in this quilt are arranged in a kaleidoscope manner.

???????????????To finish the quilt, I added four ladybugs on the outside blocks.

100 blocks square - Page 001While working on the ladybug blocks at a week-long family reunion, I discovered how much little girls love ladybugs!

20140323_112452My cousin’s six-year-old granddaughter was particularly attracted to this quilt and became “my little helper”. I designed this block with my Electric Quilt software and the pattern print out was not a true red. When my little helper saw it, with her little forefinger on her cheek, she gave her honest opinion about the color of the ladybug, “That’s not the color I would anticipate using for the ladybug.”

When I showed her the ladybug fabric, her face lit up and she exclaimed, “Oh yes. That fabric is the perfect choice!”

Such big words for such a little girl! She comes from a long line of quilters including her great-grandmother and her grandmother’s five sisters and her grandmother’s sister-in-law who are quilters. I bet my little helper will be a fantastic quilter someday.

To celebrate my blog tour with Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, I am giving away two patterns to one recipient. For everyone who “likes” Camelia’s Unique Creations on Facebook on May 1 (between 12:01AM and 11:59PM), your name will be put in a drawing to win two of my patterns (your choice of patterns). To see the patterns, check out my website www.cameliaelliott.com

Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks has provided a copy of their magazine for me to giveaway. It has instructions to 100 quilt blocks! What a great deal. For everyone who makes a comment on my blog on May 1 (between 12:01AM and 11:59PM), your name will be put in a drawing to win Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks magazine.

For more exciting giveaways, visit Quiltmaker’s Quilty Pleasures Blog at quiltmaker.com/quiltypleasures

Ladybug@Flowergarden.bzz will be published and available in about three months. Please email your contact info to cameliaelliott@gmail.com and let me know if you’d like a copy when it’s on the shelf.

Thank you for reading my blog today. Please come back! I write about a variety of interesting quilting subjects, including: Barn Quilts, TutorialsQuilting Tools, Quilting Retreats (attended by quilters from a six state area who all say “It’s well worth the drive!”) and other interesting subjects.

Please check out my Facebook page, Camelia’s Unique Creations, and website www.cameliaelliott.com

To see my work in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks check out pages 18, 57 and 98.

??????????????????????????????Happy Quilting!

Camelia

331 thoughts on “Camelia’s Garden block #864 in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks

  1. patwade says:

    Congratulations Camilla. I had no idea that I actually knew one of the designers of the blocks. I love your block.

  2. Barbara Young says:

    This is a great block and it goes so well with the ladybug which is a particular favorite with a friend of mine. Great job. Thanks for the opportunity to win some goodies.

  3. Pamela Reim says:

    a very cute block; thks

  4. Janet T says:

    Love the ladybug quilt!

  5. Joy says:

    Cute block! Love the ladybug quilted into the flower.

  6. lovely flower! I would say the checkerboard border in the quilt layout reminded me of my favorite Celtic pinwheel. wonderful!
    reillyr2(at)hotmail(dot)com

  7. Judy says:

    Your block is so pretty and colorful and the ladybugs are adorable.

  8. Jenelle Boxberger says:

    This is a fun tour, thank you for putting my name in for the drawing.

  9. hope I’m not too late to be entered in the drawing. Congrats on being in the issue with the ladybugs!.Thanks for the giveaway.

  10. Gloria S. says:

    Love the colors in your block and the quilt is adorable!

  11. Loris Mills says:

    Well, this block is wonderful and I love the addition of the ladybugs!

  12. Susan in OK says:

    What an adorable block. When you mentioned the snow in SW VA, I had an idea when that happened. I live in OK. My brother helped his son move in MD about that time and they had snow, snow, snow during the move. It was successful. My nephew has twins and an older daughter. I made coordinating quilts for the girl/boy twins and hand quilted them. They were a big hit. Thanks for the lovely new block and congrats on being a cover girl.

  13. Rae Haller says:

    This is the most adorable block I’ve seen. It is fun, bright, and happy! I’ve always loved ladybugs too, and I’m 63. Also black, white, and red is a favorite combo for me too. Thanks for the opportunity to win. Really must get this magazine.
    Rae (nrhaller@aol.com)

Leave a Reply

