Demystifying Y-Seams

This morning I’ve invited Mary Ellen of the Quilt Mouse Blog to guest blog again.  Last fall we spent some stitching time together and made a number of videos.  I’ll let her tell you about that.

Good Morning!  I’m happy to be the guest blogger on Camelia’s Blog today.

Camelia and I met in 2008 at a Quilt Camp.  I was a beginning quilter having only been quilting for a year.  One of the best parts of attending a Quilt Camp or Retreat is meeting new people, making new friends and learning from each other.

We have a ‘long-distance’ quilt-y friendship since she lives in SW Virginia and I live in Maryland. The only times we get together are at Quilt Retreats or when we make our own Quilt Week! 

This is what we did last fall.  Having a number of projects we both needed to get done, we wanted some dedicated sewing time.  So, after several rescheduling issues, we finally were able to find a week we could get together. We spent a week using her living room as our sewing studio.

2013Nov-SewingWeek-CameliasLivingRoom_thumb[3]

We worked on some pattern testing, some tutorials, a number of pillowcases, quilt tops and more!

One project we worked on together was creating a few videos to share.  Today I would like to share with you one of the Tutorial Videos we made – Demystifying Y-Seams.

Have you made any Y-Seams, sometimes called Set-in Seams?  They can be confusing and frustrating.  I am a visual learner and it really helps to watch someone demonstrate a new process.

We hope that this video helps you understand Y-Seams.  I know, for me, if this isn’t something I’ve done in a while it helps to refresh the steps needed.

Some Breaking News:

For the past several issues, I have been a Block Tester for Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Spring & Winter issues. This week they are having their Blog Tour to introduce some of the Blocks & Designers in the newest issue.

Vol9-blog-tour-this-week-socialmedia_thumb

Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 9 will be on news stands and in quilt shops Tuesday, May 6th.  I want to invite you back here tomorrow.  It is an exciting day!

Each day this week the Blog Tour highlights some of the 100 blocks and the designers were invited to share on their blogs, too.  Tomorrow, one of the designers that will be highlighted is Camelia!  Her block is #864 on Page 57, and a quilt she made using her block is featured on Page 18!

So, come back tomorrow and see the great unveiling of her new block!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.

4 thoughts on “Demystifying Y-Seams

  1. […] to being in two places at the same time.  Today I am Guest Posting on Camelia’s Blog.  I am sharing some more about what we did last November, plus a video tutorial we filmed […]

  2. Mary Ellen, you are such a talented lady! Thanks for all of your help!

  3. […] are quilting tutorials on my blog. My favorite videos are “Demystifying Y-Seams” (April 30, 2014) and “Easy Needle Threading Video Tutorial” (April 20, 2014). Special thanks to […]

Leave a Reply

