A Good Lesson Learned

Image   Image

I have been working on “Camelia’s Kaleidoscope Flower Garden” for a few days.  Yesterday, I pieced eleven blocks.  Today I’m cutting out and piecing the sashing and cornerstones.  I accidentally arranged the blocks incorrectly.  It’s amazing how different the wall hanging looks.  Which layout do you like best?  This is a good lesson for future reference—layout out blocks in a different manner and see if you like it better.  I also discovered that it is helpful to take a photo of both layouts and study them on your phone or computer.

Image

I had a thought about chain piecing all of the sashing and cornerstones (the rows that go in between the block rows) and decided to give it a try.  It worked out well!  I guess this technique could be called “the mother of all chain stitching”.  

What new quilting ideas have you tried that worked out well?

Leave a Reply

